Okay, maybe not. For the better part of this show,
GW and I have had a look of mild amusement and confusion on our faces but now I, who knew I was in a time warp while watching this thing, am sitting here wondering who the hell thought
Hootie and the Blowfish were still relevant??!
Of course, it's the first time in the show where Bushie has looked fully awake. Figures.
Oh my God,
Wonder Woman is dancing around as Hootie regales the crowd with a
Beach Boys medley (they're honoring
Brian Wilson). At least
Robert de Niro has the good sense to, uh, have no rhythm.
I seriously wonder what dimension
The Kennedy Center Honors gala flows into ours from. I tend to think 1978 or 1981 as its cheesy tributes harken back to a more innocent (innocently disturbing is more like it) era. I mean, the
Steve Martin Vaudeville Dancers? I want to know what was inside Martin's head while four ladies dressed in white suit jackets wearing bunny ears sang "All of Me".
At least
Steve Carell provided some genuine funny before things got weird.
Martin Scorsese got the classiest tribute of the evening with
Cameron Diaz, De Niro and some hot opera chick opening up the show.
Poor Brian Wilson is all I have to say. From Hootie to beach balls floating down from the ceiling, his face betrayed little emotion. I mean geez, if they were going to mine the 90s, they couldn't get
Wilson Phillips?!
When, oh when, is real TV going to start again?
I hope you all are enjoying your holidays. I had a creepy dream last night where I was having an affair with
Tom Brokaw and got caught by Tom the husband's mother. 2007 really needs to end.
Why does Kate Walsh love gossip magazines?
Ms. P
Labels: george bush, hootie and the blowfish, insane people, kennedy center honors, robert de niro, steve carell, steve martin, tom brokaw, tv
2 Comments:
Yeah, if you're stooping to watching the Kennedy Centers Honors, you're really reaching. Go out and buy the first season of Bones (it's like $20 at Target), or something. Watch some movies, go see Juno again, something. Just don't watch whatever they put on TV after the last few episodes of good TV go away. I bought the first season of Heroes on super-sale and I'm deciding whether I'm going to watch it or take it back. I think I'll hold onto it for the 30 day return window as a "rip plastic in case of Television emergency" type of thing.
I am very bored at work today.
Yes, well, I did watch Juno again!!
I have loads of dvds. I just got Too Close for Comfort! I am just lazy. And bad TV makes for good (read: easy) writing. Tee hee.
Post a Comment
* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the courier-journal.com Web site and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by courier-journal.com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that courier-journal.com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site.
<< Home