Mike Myers is hosting the
2008 MTV Movie Awards. I know we all can't wait for
The Love Guru. It looks sooo awesome!
I'm laughing already because as MM was walking out they flashed to
Lindsay Lohan and you can clearly see her asking whoever she's with "Should we get up?" as everyone stood to give him his little ovation. At least Lohan looks sober. I actually watched the first episode of
Living Lohan and I almost feel sorry for those people. Especially the youngest one.
Oh look, here's
Chris Brown. Who the hell is Chris Brown? I am proud to be out of touch at this moment. Oh goodie they're having a Dance-Off. This isn't embarrassing or anything.
And the Popcorn goes to...
Best Female Performer: the first award is presented by
Will Smith,
Charlize Theron and
Jason Bateman. So I guess it wasn't random that Will and Charlize were together at the Pre-Show. Good God her heels are high! Anyway, the winner is
Ellen Page for
Juno. Didn't see that one coming. She walks up and makes pretend "I'm going to kiss you" motions to Jason Bateman. Euw.
Rainn Wilson does something unfunny.
Best Fight: Will Ferrell and
Danny McBride are giving an awkward campaign against illiteracy speech. Who writes this patter?! Where's Bruce Vilanch?! And the winners are
Sean Faris and
Cam Gigandet from
Never Back Down. This was a movie?
Sarah Jessica Parker looks excited! How old is this Sean guy and he's thanking his "team"? Yick.
Edward Norton and
Liv Tyler come out to introduce
Coldplay. I guess everyone's making use of their free movie advertising. Liv Tyler looks REALLY different. And the new Incredible Hulk movie looks REALLY awful. I haven't seen Tim Roth in years and this is what he comes back for? I mean, I realize he's been working regularly but obviously I don't pay attention to much.
Does
Chris Martin realize he has confetti stuck to his head? Is Coldplay purposely trying to sound like Arcade Fire?
Best Summer Movie So Far: Seth Rogen and
James Franco arrive to smoke pot onstage. Robert Downey Jr. looks confused. How can
Sex and the City even win? It opened two days ago. And the winner is
Iron Man. I'm so glad
Robert Downey Jr. got his crap together and is doing so well. He's a purty good actor and stuff.
Best Male Performance: While they were announcing the nominees Tom said, "
Will Smith always has to win something. Don't they give him an award just for showing up?" And then he won.
Wayne's World. Wow.
Benji Madden is wearing sunglasses while indoors... in the dark... watching the show. That guys deserves a smack. How did they make
Dana Carvey look so young? I love how all the people they keep cutting to were barely alive when WW was running on
SNL.
Anyway, Wayne and Garth present a list of Top Ten Porno titles based on recent movies including such gems as
The Suck-It List,
Scat-atouille,
Gush Hour 3, and
National Pleasure 2: Book of Secretions.
Best Comedic Performance: Steve Carell,
Dwayne Johnson and
Anne Hathaway... are probably funnier in
Get Smart. At least I hope they are because this intro isn't. And the winner is
Johnny Depp for whatever that last
Pirates of the Caribbean movie was called. Johnny appears out of nowhere looking not unlike he did when he was on
21 Jump Street.
Diablo Cody appears like she might faint.
I hope I'm not boring you. It's hard to be sparkly about a show that isn't. I'm not even going to talk about this stupid
Verne Troyer licking the Popcorn Orbit ad.
Oh goodie here's
Tom Cruise. I watched both this
Oprah specials and I really wanted to believe that he's a real person, but ... I just can't. But then I think, oh hey, aren't we all human beings just hoping for the same things? Love, laughter, a good life? And then I remember that no, Tom isn't a human being. He thinks he's an alien. Maybe he's right, but I kinda doubt it.
He's here to present the Lifetime Achievement type award to
Adam Sandler. Does MTV have a stake in that
Zohan movie or something? Sandler is singing "Nobody Does it Better" about himself. This is... hysterical.
Is this
Tropic Thunder viral video thing funny? Why is
Jack Black a blond? Okay, Robert Downey Jr. wearing an Iron Man mask while riding Jack Black who's wearing a panda head is making me chuckle. They just blew JB's head off.
Rihanna's applauding but she's not laughing. She's going "wow" and not in an amused way it looks like.
Best Breakthrough Performance: Ha ha ha,
Diddy,
Lindsay Lohan and
Verne Troyer are presenting. That joke just writes itself! They're riffing on Hillary, McCain and Obama. Disturbing. The big winner is
Zac Efron which just proves the voters for the MTV Movie Awards are all 13-year old girls. Look how proud
Vanessa Hudgens is.
I did not win $50,000 in the Old Navy giveaway. Bummer.
Best Villain: goes to
Johnny Depp. Again. This time for
Sweeney Todd.
Jon Voigt sure is happy for him. JD is chewing gum. While accepting an award. I'm not sure how I feel about that.
The
House of Bunny girls (my God, that was
Anna Faris?) introduce
The Pussycat Dolls. About The Pussycat Dolls I'm going to for once adhere to the old adage, "If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all." This song sucks, though. Oh look, it's the
Jabbawockeez! Those guys are bitchin'. They truly were America's Best Dance Crew.
Best Kiss: Megan Fox (boy, she's come a long way from
Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen) and
Rainn Wilson (a semi-naked Rainn Wilson, save the teddy bear covering his privates) present Best Kiss to
Briana Evigan and
Robert Hoffman for
Step Up 2 (because the original
Step Up was so amazing it deserved a sequel??!). Is Briana related to Greg Evigan? I looked it up. She's his daughter. And now she's making out with a guy on The MTV Movie Awards. BJ must be so proud. Not so sure about the Bear.
I am freaking thrilled we're being treated to this unfunny animal trainer video starring
Mike Myers,
Jon Favreau and
Elijah Wood. Is this show almost over yet? If you thought that animal trainer thing was any good please comment and tell me why. Sometimes I really feel like I just don't get it.
Best Movie: Ben Stiller,
Jack Black and
Robert Downey Jr (who gets a ten person standing ovation) arrive to present the biggest award of the night to... (I'm guessing
Transformers because I saw
Michael Bay in the audience and let's face it, why else would he be there?)
Transformers! My powers of deduction are simply awesome! Megan Fox, who just said, "Transformers 2 is going to be f***ing badass" is classy! Not really!
Okay, my life is my own again! Huzzah!
SATC review tomorrow (provided it's not sold out again like it was on Friday),
Ms. P
ps. Yves Saint Laurent RIP
Labels: awards shows, celebrities, film, mtv movie awards, music, tv
5 Comments:
Thank you. Really, because I had actually Tivo'd this as was going to watch it in a weak moment, and you've saved me a few hours and you were undoubtedly funnier than the entire thing was.
I have a question though, were the MTV Movie Awards ever funny? I mean, I remember finding the year when they had the Brady Bunch acting out scenes from the Best Movie nominees freaking hilarious, but I was probably 18, and I now realize my taste sucked back then.
You're welcome. :)
You know, it's funny, I think that might be it. That we were 18! The same goes for SNL to a certain extent.
Okay, maybe you were 18 and I was 22 or something but that Brady Bunch stuff was hilarious.
I almost wish I was more easily amused bec it was a slightly painful evening.
No, I think they genuinely were funny once. But that it was a long time ago.
I'm really glad I didn't watch this, and kind of sorry that you did. It sounds like a giant train wreck (although isn't that what MTV does these days?)
Linda Park: You watch so we don't have to. THANK YOU. Your assessments are always so much better than the real thing.
I was reading on my deck when this was on. (Not even chick lit, either. Real literature.)
Maisy, as one who is reading a lot of chick lit - and not just chick lit - teen chick lit - I applaud your reading choices... and the fact that you skipped the MTV Movie Awards.
Me, I live to serve my readers. All five of them.
And Jeff, yes... MTV should change their slogan to 'specializing in trainwrecks' or MTV ... (Hot)Mess TeleVision.
Post a Comment
* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the courier-journal.com Web site and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by courier-journal.com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that courier-journal.com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site.
<< Home