
Apparently every episode of
Project Runway must now feature:
Joe showing how not gay he is.
Suede referring to himself in the third person.
Stella saying, "I love leatha."
Blayne discussing his stupid tan. How he managed to avoid saying "-licious" this week is beyond me. Or did he and I missed it?
I'm seriously falling asleep here.
The designers are challenged with creating an outfit for the US Olympic athletes to wear at the opening ceremony in Beijing.
Apollo Anton Ohno is the guest judge. That makes a lot of sense since he's a WINTER games athlete... but okay.
Since I just wrote a marathon
So You Think You Can Dance post, I'm just going to cover the runway.
Joe's USA
skort is actually the most sporty spice thing on the runway. Does this mean skorts are coming back? Egads. Joe had a mini-hetero meltdown earlier where he complained that there were too many queens around. Umm, what show did he think he was auditioning for?
I don't hate
Blayne's off the shoulder ensemble. I did hate saying that, though. Blayne doesn't know what Sgt Pepper is, but he made Tim say "holla at ya boy" again. It wasn't as funny this time.
Daniel's dress looks more like something a
flight attendant in the 50s would wear. Or is that some other era I'm reminded of? Roseana should be able to tell me. Apparently, according to Michael, it's from the Republic of Cocktail Land.
Jennifer designs
something kind of cute. How it relates to the Olympics in any way, shape or form, I have no idea. Apollo says he cannot walk tall, strong and proud in that girly frock.
I'm not even going to talk about
Jerrell. And whatever the hell that is (see photo above).
Ditto Keith.
These designers must not watch the Olympics. Is that a given?
Kelli's 60s housewife getup is just bizarre. What decade are we in? I wonder and so does Korto. We live in '08! Yeah!
Crikey, did anyone get a glimpse of
Laura Bennett's Supermom getup that was inspired by the Saturn Outlook? I'm sure I'll be seeing that on all the minivan'ed soccer moms at Springhurst next week.
Kenley's outfit is not only completely unathletic, it's also
fug to the max. She's lucky she has immunity.
Korto really likes those
flowing pants, doesn't she? Heidi thinks those flowing pants are going to make America proud!
Leanne... is
boring me, but her outfit looks well made.
God bless
Stella. If the Olympics are ever in space she is
so there. She says, "It represents the country in a bad ass way." Indeed.
Suede's outfit is just
suedetastic! Not! I'm bringing back the "not" joke. Tell your friends.
I would be impressed by
Terri's outfit if it didn't have that
neck thing. Apollo says he "loves the colors." Umm, they're red, white and blue. Duh!
Korto is tonight's big winner and it's auf wiedersehen
Jennifer.
Ta ta lovelies,
Ms. P
ps. OMG
Brooke Shields is on next week! Whee!
Labels: fashion, project runway, tv
3 Comments:
Hi, anybody but me looking forward to the new, street hustler edition of Project Runway, starring Blayne?
As you mentioned, I think it was very telling that only one designer really even acknowledged they were designing for athletes. Joe’s outfit wasn’t quite “there” for me but at least it had some relationship to its prospective client.
Thanks for mentioning Daniel and his misnamed creation! You knew I was sitting at home, fulminating against his “40s” dress. It was not a 40s dress. The silhouette he came up with — fitted bodice with a bateau neckline, pegged skirt that stopped above the knee — was from the 1960s. Forties dresses had extended, padded shoulders, and skirts were cut in gores and gently flared. They often had some interesting draping detail on the bodice or skirt or both. A woman in the 1960s would not have been caught dead wearing a 40s-style dress — the silhouettes were completely different. Why am I telling a supposedly educated designer about fashion history?
The trouble with Korto’s outfit is, most Olympic athletes are very young, and the young girls are not interested in wearing pants with a waist that high. They still want the low pants, and who can blame them? They got the abs for it. Designers seem to be re-introducing high-waisted pants but they have not won that battle with the kiddies — yet. This design looks like resort wear, not athlete’s attire.
well, i thought it was 50s. did he says 40s?
high waisted pants are super in right now. i don't know why. i hate them. isn't there some happy medium between butt baring and mom jeans?
Daniel did say "40s." His dress isn't 50s, either. The hem length is too short. Hems started to go up again in the 60s.
Only the very young can afford to follow what's "in." The rest of us must wear what actually fits and looks the best -- high, low, or somewhere in between. It's amazing what a proper fit in a garment does to your worries about what's current.
Post a Comment
* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the courier-journal.com Web site and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by courier-journal.com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that courier-journal.com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site.
<< Home