Yesterday I actually sat through two Lifetime network movies,
The Truth About Jane featuring
Ellen Muth (George from
Dead Like Me) and
RuPaul (playing a man, but still gay) and
Odd Girl Out, a
Mean Girls ripoff starring
Alexa Vega (from
Spy Kids). I must say it heartens me to see such positive message flicks (especially
Truth About Jane) on a network that, wrong or right, seems so very Harlequin Romance and possibly conservative. That said, I must say most chick-lit I read does seem distinctly Democratic.
Moving on, I don't know how well
Hillary Clinton's hour long appearance on
Meet the Press is going to serve her. I may have been cringing at times, not because of what she said, but because she has such image problems and I suspect at the heart of it her intelligence comes with a certain amount of arrogance and impatience (which showed) yet she's just been clearly told that being "human" is what plays well with the crowd. However, I think it sucks that she must walk this line of being soft yet tough (we're supposed to burnt marshmallows?), but isn't that the challenge of ALL women? I know that I am rarely graceful about being either (and this is, of course, the only reason why I don't run for president).
And speaking of the challenges of women, tonight marks the return of
Rock of Love featuring our favorite phone-sex recipient
Bret Michaels! Gosh, I just can't wait to find out who this season's Lacey, Jes and Heather are going to be!! The mind does boggle.
Also tonight, the, err, press conference announcing the winners of the
Golden Globes. I'll have a little report on what is sure to be a scintillating broadcast for you later. Or tomorrow. I must finish
Eclipse and be done with the Cullens, the classiest vampire family ever. Mostly I'm just sick of Bella, the highly average teenager who has somehow managed to enchant not only the most sophisticated vampires but the most interesting werewolves, as well. I'm sure I'm just jealous. I want mythical creatures for buddies!
Tying this post together, I just read that
Anne Rice has endorsed... Hillary Clinton! Does this mean Hillary will become the Queen of the Damned? Inheriting GW's mess (not to mention all the monarchy/dynasty questions), I'm sure it probably feels that way to her.
I'm going to write a Lifetime movie someday! Right after I finish watching
Queen Size starring
Nikki Blonsky and
Annie Potts!
Ms. P
ps. Here's something amusing for all you
My So Called Life fans out there.
Angela Chase talks about the issues.
pps. Just read this
article about the potential unraveling of the writer's strike.
ppps.
Newsweek got told (do people still use that slang?) by...
Clay Aiken! Ha ha!
Labels: angela chase, anne rice, bret michaels, clay aiken, hillary clinton, lifetime network, meet the press, my so called life, newsweek, politics, rock of love, tv
6 Comments:
I think the problem with Hillary Clinton's image is that the level of arrogance and impertinence you have to have to handle running for President is practically sociopathic. Unfortunately, many people see this as being an attractive quality in men and just the opposite in women. Put plainly, we all want our President to be an asshole, but not a bitch. Does that make any sense?
Anyway, it's TV armageddon tonight with Terminator, Comanche Moon (I have to watch anything with Val Kilmer in it for some reason), the Globes debacle plus football. I may have to record two shows downstairs and watch something upstairs. This is almost like doing math. Hopefully there'll be a 1AM showing of Rock of Love 2 to record for tomorrow.
That makes total sense and I think you're right. The double standard is annoying but then again, I don't think anyone should be as arrogant/ego driven as most/all presidential candidates are.
Okay, if you have to see anything with Val Kilmer have you seen him in the musical version of The Ten Commandments? AWESOME!!
Looking forward to Terminator. Hope it's good.
I had read an article and blog post positing that no one who should be President would ever run, because they're too smart to. I think both Obama and Clinton are the closest we'll ever get to people who should be President and have the actual mental make-up to go through with it.
As for Val Kilmer, I try to only watch his good movies. Thus avoiding anything that is direct-to-video or co-starring Marlon Brando. As for the Ten Commandments, I figured that I'd already "seen" him as Moses in the animated Prince of Egypt, so I could take the pass. If you haven't seen Spartan or Kiss, Kiss, Bang, Bang, both are actual good movies he's been in recently. I'm trying to compose a post that deals with my unfortunate fascination with the man.
The morning after the New Hampshire primary, Tim Russert was a guest on “Morning Joe” on MSNBC. Mid-interview, Tim’s friend Mike (a reporter) ran into the shot and grabbed Tim in a bear-hug/choke hold. Tim laughed, and Mike – apropos of nothing – launched into a story about his botched vasectomy and how he now has a fifth child – a son named Tim – named after Russert, the kid’s god father.
These guys were clearly old, good friends, and Mike was clearly exhausted – his pressed shirt, unbuttoned, showing his undershirt, his tie, un-tied, draped around his neck. Haggard face, no tv makeup. I loved it. It was fun and impromptu and genuine and I don’t know why I remember it in such detail except that it was a side of those guys you don’t usually see, and it was super endearing. They joked about it for the rest of the show – that Mike, such a great guy, let’s have him back tomorrow. And they did. And Mike gave insightful, authoritative comments on the election, and then ribbed Tim some more, and it was both newsy and fun.
Now do the “Time to Kill” switcheroo – now imagine they’re women.
A high-ranking news woman being interviewed about election coverage, and a friend of hers – no makeup, her blouse unbuttoned to the waist, showing her slip - runs into the shot to recklessly hug her friend and launch into a story about the crazy conception of her fifth child. Can you see it? I get queasy just thinking about it. The abject horror. Every internal sensor I have would be full-on panicking - “Stop talking stop talking!! What are you’re doing?!” That woman would never work on tv again. The “bizarre” episode would be replayed on competing news shows. Woman-Tim would be mortified. Mortified. There would be meetings with bosses…
I don’t really have a point except to say that I never felt my gender was a hindrance ‘til I hit 28, 29, and now I feel like I see double standards everywhere, in social and professional interactions big and small. And I don’t think about it that much, but when I do it seems intractable and it makes me sad sad sad.
Wow, Nicole. I was wondering where you were going with that, but it's a great point. Although, it's too bad you couldn't use the dramatic prairie dog during your "A Time to Kill" switcheroo.
Yay! Tina Fey just won a Golden Globe. Now if only Larry King would stop talking over the CNN feed.
Nicole, that was an interesting and disturbing analogy.
Jason, that was an interesting and disturbing dramatic prairie dog.
Post a Comment
* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the courier-journal.com Web site and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by courier-journal.com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that courier-journal.com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site.
<< Home