
I was up til 4 am last night and here are some thoughts I had during Fitzgerald's dark night of the soul (which is actually 3 am, but, err, you know, that's when I was putting this post together).
I no longer want to see this
Bee Movie thing. If I have to look at
Jerry Seinfeld's face one more time it's going on my dart board. I don't have a dart board, but I will go buy one. This is how tired I am of hearing him hawk this flick. Is my dislike of Seinfeld going to lose me readers? I hope not but there, I said it. I hated that stupid show! Those people were awful! I know that was the point but urrgh. Remember that episode (I love how I'm doing a remember that ep about a show I only saw a handful of times) where Jerry dated the girl who had the amazing toy collection and they broke into her apartment to play with them? It still makes me mad to this day! Uh. I have issues... with people respecting other people's stuff. Or something.
Martina Hingis tested positive for cocaine at Wimbledon, and though she denies it has
retired from tennis. Thus endeth a comeback that no one really cared about. I was glad to see that Hingis had grown up a bit, though, as I never liked her and her rudeness back in the day.
Speaking of controversial sports figures, did anyone watch the
Barry Bonds interview on
Countdown with Keith Olbermann last night? Bonds is an interesting figure to me. I don't hate him but I don't love baseball so have nothing invested in his personality or his tainting or not tainting of the home run record. I give him some respect for refusing to attend a Baseball Hall of Fame induction if they agree to display his record breaking baseball with an asterisk on it. I also respect that he has the foresight to say, "this is how I feel now." I do not, however, respect the fact that he REFERS TO HIMSELF IN THE THIRD PERSON! Man, that's annoying. Funny... but annoying. This seems very popular in baseball. Can someone explain it to me?
Does anyone else think
Bush saying don't listen to MoveOn.org and
Laura telling the troops not to pay attention to the news is so
Wizard of Oz? Don't pay attention to the man behind the curtain!!!
Jimmy Page broke his finger so
Led Zeppelin has canceled some dates. I remember (sorry, mom) getting drunk when I was 15 and watching
The Song Remains the Same. I cried at the end when they got on the plane. Hmm... 3 am really is the dark night if I'm admitting that one!
Television writers are about to go
on strike so our fall TV season might be cut short. This bums me out but obviously I support their endeavors. I'll be sad not to see any new eps of
The Daily Show or
30 Rock. I will not, however, be sad that
Cavemen or
Bionic Woman are in reruns.
I watched
Big Shots again last night. It's still bad but I feel myself getting sucked in! Noooo!
Michael Vartan isn't that cute anymore!
Elisabeth Rohm looks like she's had some work done. Not very good work, either. Her cool cat eyes have gone dog. Strangely, I find
Dylan McDermott most compelling. Strange because he really got on my nerves on
The Practice.And last but not least, could it really be true that
Lance Armstrong is dating
Ashley Olsen? What a little star... plucker he is. I say he's the lesser in this scenario because he and I both went to Clark High School in Plano, Texas and I'm sorry, but no one famous can come from a place that lame.
I'll be back later with more tacky news bits.
Chu chu,
Ms. P
Labels: ashley olson, barry bonds, bee movie, big shots, film, george bush, jerry seinfeld, lance armstrong, laura bush, martina hingis, sports, tennis, tv, wga strike
2 Comments:
I'm getting Seinfeld fatigue, too. I loved the show back in the day, but since then it seems like everyone involved in it has made a series of terrible choices (save for Larry David, whose "Curb Your Enthusiasm" is one of the most daring shows on TV). Between Michael Richards' racist rant, Jason Alexander and Julia Louis Dreyfus' regrettable TV/movie careers and Seinfeld's creative laziness, there is nothing positive to say about that crew.
Right. I think Seinfeld's marketing team way overestimated America's desire to see him all the time.
That said, 30 Rock's Seinfeldvision was pretty funny...But that was really only because of MILF Island. Just thinking about that still makes me laugh.
Post a Comment
* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the courier-journal.com Web site and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by courier-journal.com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that courier-journal.com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site.
<< Home