
aka "Snark Muscle Flexeth"
Day two of
New York Fashion Week brought us Spring 2008 collections from red carpet faves
Badgley Mischka, celebrity faves
Miss Sixty (the front row consisted of
Clive Owen,
Demi Moore,
Hilary Swank and
Maggie Gyllenhaal),
Bill Blass (who had the most elegant collection I've seen thus far),
Preen, and
Lela Rose (whose scallop edged skirts and dresses were pretty darn cute).
Sienna Miller and her sister Savannah held the launch party for their new line
Twelve8Twelve, which is apparently inspired by Dickens and Patti Smith. Err, okay. She joins
Gwen Stefani and the
Olsen Twins as celebrities with high end labels. To me that's not really an illustrious list and I don't think I've ever found myself wanting to look like any of these women. Furthermore, what is the deal with Sienna Miller? She seems more famous for being famous and wearing high-waisted jeans (or nothing at all) than for any great acting talent.
Most of these shows seem either flashy but uneven (
L.A.M.B.,
Miss Sixty - haven't seen the
Heatherette pics yet) or dull and uneven (
rag and bone,
Nicole Miller - but cheers to her for going fur-free). People keep wondering what crazy stunt
PETA is going to pull next and I wish the animal rights people (of which I am one, my hypocritical use of leather and Charmin aside) didn't come off like lunatics on occasion. The message gets lost and seriously, do they really think if they throw red paint on someone stupid enough to wear a giant fur that person is actually going to rethink her position and stop?
Anyway, expect to resemble a lemon or a Blockbuster employee (all that khaki! Does khaki look good on anyone?) and to be belted within an inch of your life come spring and if I see one more outfit that accentuates a woman's hips I'm going to be ill. Do you know any women who want their hips to look bigger? I sure don't. Between the big hips, huge shoulders and out of proportion fedoras, no wonder some of these models look so unhappy...
And speaking of models, I stayed up til 3 am last night watching the end of cycle 4 of
America's Next Top Model. That
Keenyah had some crazy eyes and I confess I developed a bit of a girl crush on
Kahlen. In the end, though, I'm glad
Naima won (are any of these girls ever named Cathy or something normal?) Someone save me, please. There's a marathon on tomorrow and I just know I'm going to watch. However, maybe this will cause me to o.d. like my friend Leslie and I'll never turn it on again.
In other news, apparently
Larry Wachowski is still a man. Doesn't he realize this makes him less interesting? This all comes from "sources on the set" and was reported by Fox News so I don't know if I believe it.
And lastly, oh I am so sad to report this but
Tim Gunn's Guide to Style sucks. I will give it another chance but oh Lord.
Tim and
Veronica (who now looks like Gary Oldman in
The Fifth Element. Yikes, right?) are no
Trinny and Susannah!The bad: OptiTex software demonstrations - they put in your measurements and put clothes on a virtual model. It looks horrible. I wouldn't want to wear anything after seeing myself like that. The contestant - all I could think when she was at
Catherine Malandrino was CM's inner dialog of "Oh my God I did not imagine my dress on zees breedge and tunnel beem-bo." and yes, I'm probably putting unfair words in her mouth. And Gunn himself who came off as simply fussy, although I did love it when he gasped over Veronica Webb's suggestion of leggings.
The horrible: The Life Stylist (seriously, am I watching
The Swan?) The piece of crap Ice.com ring they gave the contestant's husband to give her. All I could think of was that
Sex and the City episode where Carrie saw Aidan's engagement ring and puked. And lastly, though it will make me seem heartless, the whole scene with her mother getting flown in after surgery to see her in nice clothes... They had her come in right at the end - she didn't even get to see the fashion show. What was the point?
Also, who has a separate dog walking outfit? Is this for real?
Sigh. I am going to be shallower than a kiddie pool by the time Fashion Week is over.
Off to go see
Shoot 'em Up,
Ms. P
ps. I hate to think I'm losing any male readers by being all girly, posting flower pics and writing about wacky frocks. I promise, cars and comics coming soon!
Labels: fashion, fashion week
0 Comments:
Post a Comment
* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the courier-journal.com Web site and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by courier-journal.com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that courier-journal.com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site.
<< Home