
I turned on the news this morning and the lady on
CNN with the bad burgundy Jane Fonda in
Klute hair kept saying "We're hearing a moment of silence." I say kept because she did it more than once. Then she said, "Let's roll." Then she said, "Bells toll and tears flow." Seriously. Where do they find these people?
Diving right in to the fascists... I mean fashions...
Last night I watched the end of a special on
Kimora Lee Simmons where she opined in regard to revelers at a party she threw, "These are the beautiful people of the world!" and then they cut to
Kid Rock. ::snort::.
Also, the best show ever, the MetLife
Snoopy in Fashion event took place on the 7th. Designers
Betsey Johnson,
Heatherette and
Project Runway alum
Laura Bennett (to name a few) gave the Peanuts a twist to support Dress for Success, an organization that aims to help disadvantaged women succeed in the workplace. The designs can be bid on at eBay from October 1 to 31.
At the shows... Day 6
Anna Sui: Girly and interesting but interesting doesn't always mean you want to wear it (a vest topped jumpsuit? Really? High-waisted pants to the point where your waist is your boobs? Sigh). Unfortunately, I have this sneaking suspicion that the 90s are coming back (I've even seen fanny packs!! The horror!) and I'm not happy about it. However, I'm going to go ahead and agree with
Vincent Gallo (even though he totally grosses me out) and say that Sui is an underrated designer and I applaud her longevity. I'm also biased because of the Asian factor (loads of Asian designers showed this week. Very exciting).
Marc Jacobs: Because I've seen
My Morning Jacket do the reverse show trick where they come out, play one song, take their bows and leave (and I'm sure they weren't the first to do this), it sounded a bit less cute when I heard that this is how Marc Jacobs ran his show. Also not cute, making people wait two freakin' hours. Everyone is raving over this inconsistent explosion of bad taste. I'm totally missing something. I mean, we've established that I'm not cool and I wear Old Navy and everything but come on!! What the hell was that?!
Oscar de la Renta: De la Renta presented his collection at a church on the Upper East Side instead of at the Bryant Park tents. People are falling all over themselves with praise for the show, calling it a religious experience (seriously - were these people fooled because it was a) in a church and b) included a performance by the oft robed
Polyphonic Spree? Hey, fashionistas, it's the sun! Better get some SPF 45. I really hope someone gets that tacky joke). Anyway, I was ready to be snooty but I can't. It will be hard to beat this stunning and polished collection that featured some of the most beautiful dresses I've seen so far.
Finally, if you feel like getting your disco on, have a gander at
Chris Benz and
Vivenne Tam.
Making the rounds:
Victoria Beckham (who is starting to resemble one of those
Close Encounters of the Third Kind aliens), The
Olsen Twins (probably doing research for
New York Minute 2), some chick named
Tinsley Mortimer who as far as I can tell has never done anything,
Roger Federer (who was getting drooled on by
Anna Wintour. Ick),
Mischa Barton (I think this girl will go to a fashion show at a mall, she's so ubiquitous), and
Julianne Moore (who apparently watched the VMAs since she's blonde now, too. I really hope this is for a movie or something because she looks much better as a redhead).
Also, apparently
LL Cool J has a clothing line, too? Are they giving these things out to anyone? I need to tell Tom to capitalize on his
Esquire Magazine's Best Dressed status (so what if it was last year!) and start his own brand so my friend Leslie and I can go to Fashion Week and be annoying little scenesters, too.
Back in the saddle again,
Ms. P
ps. This picture comes from the door of the Duomo di Milano in Italy, one of the most beautiful cathedrals I've ever seen. Milan Fashion Week is September 22 - 29 and is worth having a look at.
Labels: fashion, fashion week
4 Comments:
OMG, Marc Jacobs! What the eff? None of the clothes are flattering, even to the walking hangers that were wearing them. And if it doesn't look good on an 18BMI, it's really gonna suck on anyone any bigger. What's with the sheer panels? Or the short panels of fabric paired with long panels? Sheer track pants with racing stripes? Panties on the outside? A lace cape? Huge, bulky pockets that sit right on the hips? The gloves that look like the kind a bovine vet would use. I am not sure why anyone thinks this collection is so wonderful, unless it's pure concept, and at some point he'll evolve something wearable from it. I don't think I need to comment on how ridonkulous the models looked...
The underwear on the outside was my favorite... nevermind that it's been done before and it was stupid then just as it's stupid now. Critics are using words like 'provocative', though, which probably really means 'hideous but it's Marc Jacobs so what can we do?'
The Spree at an Oscar de la Renta show? Seriously? I about fell out of my chair when I read that yesterday. Dear Fashion World, that little band from Denton is old news. Please move on.
Well, it was de la Renta... I don't think the Upper East Side mavens read Pitchfork.
Post a Comment
* Our online blogs currently are hosted and operated by a third party, namely, Blogger.com. You are now leaving the courier-journal.com Web site and will be linked to Blogger.com's registration page. The Blogger.com site and its associated services are not controlled by courier-journal.com and different terms of use and privacy policy will apply to your use of the Blogger.com site and services.By proceeding and/or registering with Blogger.com you agree and understand that courier-journal.com is not responsible for the Blogger.com site you are about to access or for any service you may use while on the Blogger.com site.
<< Home