Seriously, if I don't stop watching MSNBC all the time soon my brain might be irreparable. Contessa, Tamron, Joe and Mika, and especially David, Chris and Chuck, I think you're all just swell, but really... I need my life back.
And in just one short week I'll have it, but will I have it all?
Oh, if only Obama winning meant just that. It's a start, though, I hope. In eight days I could own the President's fork. It's just too crazy to contemplate.
In the meantime, I am totally heartbroken over Joaquin Phoenixretiring.
Also, I hope the German police have caught the menace that is the speeding Muppet.
And then there's the above pictured tattoo that Kat Von D did of Mick Mars on her boyfriend Nikki Sixx'sleg. I read that Motley Crue biography and as disturbing as it was, you couldn't help but love Mick. I adore him like I adore Kirk Hammett. I wonder how Kirk would feel about that.
Alec Baldwin just called Sarah Palin "Bible Spice" on Late Night with David Letterman. I hope I'm the first person on Earth to report that.
I think we all knew young Ashley Todd was lying but here's the story. I bet John McCain is sorry he called her now.
In other news...
Apparently the RNC's expenditure on Sarah Palin's wardrobe is a good thing. I like that pink dress, though. I think America could really relate to her if she wore that to a rally. It's amusing to me that they came up with the whole "we're giving the clothes to charity" thing only after the story broke.
I'm relieved that Jon Stewart isn't overly fond of Nancy Pfotenhauer, either. I have enjoyed watching her collagen injected lips deflate as the campaign marches on, though. I guess there's no room in the budget for a dermatologist after Palin spent all the money on clothes. That is super catty, I know, but NP is a robot so I'm sure her feelings won't be hurt.
And finally, more on Michelle Bachman, the crazy-eyed Congresswoman from Minnesota who will now probably lose to Elwyn Tinklenberg. Yes, call Obama anti-American and lose to the Tinklenberg. That is karmic justice, methinks.
That's all for now, folks. Man, I will be happy when November 5th rolls around. Or at least, I think I will... but it's only the beginning, remember!
ps. Just added Marcia Stirman of New Mexico who called Obama a "Muslim Socialist." Now I understand why Jan was always going "Marcia, Marcia, Marcia!"
It's my two NBC news boyfriends, BriWi and Chuck Todd.
The McCain/Palin interview that Brian Williams conducted made me uncomfortable, but I think, unfortunately, it's because just watching either of them do anything at this point sets my teeth on edge. I wish it wasn't that way, but what can I say? If I hear the words "Joe the Plumber" one more time, I'm going to throw my Closet Auger at the TV.
What happens if McCain wins? That's something I've been pondering lately and it scares the heck out of me, gosh darn it. We've been in such a fog for the last seven years, a fog that's obscured hope and put our dreams on credit at 21% interest.
I've seen the ugly side of the "Real America" and no amount of plastic surgery's gonna pretty that stuff up.
I'm not saying that Obama IS the change because the change is in us, but it's a start, right?
Oh Yes, Hate Speech on the Left Is SOOOOOO Much Worse! - Sacramento GOP Edition
So I'm a bit late on this one, but it was worth posting anyway.
Those Sacramento Republicans sure are a genial bunch. They've taken this down in the ensuing criticism from California Repubs including Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger.
However, you can still get your "Waterboard Obama" coffee mug here along with one that says "Give Al Qaeda a chance. Vote Obama."
There's also this... jerkface in Ohio...
All this makes me wonder what's going to happen if/when Barack Obama wins? I thought the Swiftboating of John Kerry was bad, but that pales in comparison, obviously. Still, I remain amazed when the Right try to act like wounded little martyrs in regards to the hate speech that's out there. I have yet to hear anyone yell "Off with his head!" when John McCain's name comes up at Obama rallies.
Bernie Sanders, my new boyfriend, was on Real Time with Bill Maher this weekend and among the many great things he said, he talked about restoring Americans' hope in America and the world's hope in America. Colin Powell discussed something similar on Meet the Press. I very much hope that no matter who wins, something akin to the restoration of our place in the world starts to happen next year.
And I don't mean our place as in we're #1 or the uprising of Sarah Palin's "Real America." I mean the return of a country where our "freedoms" actually mean something and liberty and justice really is for all (okay, so we're not quite there yet and we weren't eight years ago, either, but it's something to work for, yeah?).
Saturday Night Live - From Sarah Palin to Marky Mark Pt. 2
Last night I made some brief comments about SNL with Sarah Palin. I'm a bit irked that they even had her on there (couldn't they have pulled an Oprah? Then again, Lorne Michaels did contribute to McCain's campaign, although it does look like he was just covering his bases).
However, fair's fair. I wrote my post before I saw Amy Poehler's Palin rap. Another slightly awkward moment, though Poehler was purty funny.
I would say that I'm glad Palin can laugh at herself, but I'm not sure she was. Mark Wahlberg, however, is mildly redeemed as having a sense of humor (or as my internet friend Jason says, some kickass marketing savvy).
Anyhoodle, here's the vid...
Palin's opening
The Palin rap
And finally, Mark Wahlberg and Andy Samberg (and Amy Poehler and Josh Brolin)
Unrelated (sort of), Colin PowellendorsedBarack Obama on Meet the Press this morning. Quelle surprise, but good news.
Saturday Night Live - From Sarah Palin to Marky Mark
I gotta give it up to Mark Wahlberg for talking to a donkey.
Sarah Palin... not so much. That was... awkward (Alec Baldwin would barely look at her, though, to be fair, he was reading his cue cards. Tina Fey was spot on, as always). Part of me wants to give her props for going into the lion's den, but, what was it someone said on Real Time with Bill Maher? She lacks the shame gene? Something like that. So apt.
Barack Obama is handing John McCain his bootay in this debate. I hope the analysis backs me up because my head might asplode if anyone calls McCain for the win on this one.
John just looks so... unfortunate, and the eye rolling isn't helping him, either.
I would feel sorry for him except that he's coming off like such a condescending butthead that sympathy has left the building, Sidney.
God help us if McCain wins. God help us either way. I mean, if there is a God.
Barack "Hussein" Obama and The Sarah Palin Garbage Pail Card
Yesterday someone asked me what the difference is between the above rendering of Sarah Palin as a Garbage Pail Kid vs the rendering of Barack Obama as a Muslim terrorist that I posted yesterday.
Well... there's YouTube video of Sarah Palin talking about the natural gas line in Alaska as being God's plan. There's a photo of her holding a rifle, and there's plenty of footage of her chanting "Drill, baby, drill!"
Also, Sarah Barracuda is something she's obviously proud of (see - or hear, I guess - their use of Heart's "Barracuda" at rallies much to Ann and Nancy Wilson's chagrin).
As for the billboard in yesterday's post...
I love how "Hussein" is in quotation marks as if that's a nickname they've given him and not his actual middle name. But you know, let's imply that he must be one of them A-rab dictators.
They've drawn him as a Muslim (or a Sikh, maybe?), which we all know he is not. And if we don't, we must be deaf, dumb and blind because I'm pretty sure Reverend Wright is not preaching the tenets of the Koran.
They're declaring that Barack Obama equals "more abortions". Umm... I didn't know that promoting abortion was part of his platform. Is he offering buy one, get one free if you vote for him or something?
Furthermore, the idea that Barack Obama equals more same sex marriages is just silly - not really - since he has declared pretty much everywhere that he is against same sex marriage (although I hope he doesn't actually believe that).
And finally, Barack Obama equals more taxes... yes, for people making over $250,000 a year. I'm willing to bet that the people behind this billboard do not make over $250k a year.
Okay, so he is for more gun regulation... and this is a bad thing?
I do not think Barack is the second coming. I'm not a huge fan of either candidate, to be honest. I'm disappointed that John McCain turned his back on his independent spirit to pander to a bunch of right wing nutjobs just so he can win. However, I agree, they all do it. Obama switched positions on FISA, among other things, after he won the nomination.
Anyway... that's my answer to one friend's question.
To be fair, you should read up on each candidate's positions and decide for yourself, of course.
Favorite News Clip of the Week - John McCain Edition
Seriously. Where did they find this lady?
Don't even get me started on Sarah Palin'sinsane response to the findings re Troopergate. She says, "read the report." I think SHE ought to read the report, gosh darn, you betcha!
Gay Marriage News - Connecticut Supreme Court Edition
The Connecticut Supreme Court just overturned the state's ban on gay marriage.
I hate to say this, but I'm relieved the economy is so in the toilet that I don't think the Republicans can pull this out as a last minute wedge issue.
Hurray for human rights.
Gay Bears wedding cake topper made by Hunter Vaughn.
Jim James of My Morning Jacket - Get Well Soon Edition
As many of you know, Jim fell off the stage last night in Iowa City. Thankfully, he did NOT sustain head injuries as has been incorrectly reported more times than I care to mention.
Following is the statement from the band:
"As some of you may have heard we had to cancel our show last evening in Iowa City. We were finishing up the last few bars of "Off The Record" and just like any other night we were all having a great time. Jim went to get closer to the audience on his side of the stage, and as he moved forward to step onto the sub-woofer the lights darkened, and he inadvertently stepped off the stage. Upon falling, he suffered traumatic injuries to his torso, and was immediately taken to the hospital.
Per the doctor's orders, Jim will be off the road and recovering from his injuries for the next two to three weeks. Sadly, we must postpone the two shows in Chicago on Thursday and Friday until further notice.
For those who attended the Iowa City show, we would like to extend our gratitude for your understanding and cooperation. We take our fans and performances very seriously, and would never cancel a show unless it was absolutely necessary. Please know that we will be making every effort to return to your fine city.
Thank you so much to our fans for the kind sentiments and well-wishes on Jim's behalf. We hope for Jim's quick recovery and to be back out on the road soon.
With Love, My Morning Jacket"
Sending all positive thoughts to Jim for a speedy recovery, LP
ps. The Chicago shows will be rescheduled. Check out MMJ.com for updates.
By the way, for my Project Runway friends out there. I did watch this week. What was up with all the damn crying?!! Kenley is still a bitch. Quelle surprise. She'll probably win. Not sure I'd ever want to wear a skintight mock turtleneck dress with scales at the bottom but what do I know?
What else... this is disgusting. A friend said he thought he could never muster up sympathy for Courtney Love again until he saw this. Poor Kurt Cobain.
Why does he dye it yellow every time he leaves town?
WHY?!! WHY?!
This keeps me up at night.
You know what else is going to keep me up at night? Sarah Palin's crazy eyes! Although, all through the debate I kept imagining her saying, "I got my glasses in under an hour!"
Okay, I'll stop now. I think this is my 900th post today.
Backin' ya up Talking about Afghanistan real quick Nucular Clearin' Holdin' Rebuildin' Cravin' Pushin' Winkin' Doggonin' it There you goin' again (nice Reagan steal, Palin. She also ripped off The American President)
I never want to hear the phrase "Main Street" again. Whose town actually revolves around Main Street, anymore? Quit freaking pandering to people you don't give a crap about!! And people who are being pandered to, quit freaking buying it!!!
Someone please locate the letter G for Ms. Palin. I believe she misplaced it somewhere.
Aside from the fact that she's wearing too much blush, she looks great, and you know Joe Six Pack is just eating this up... excuse me, eatin' this up... and he wants to sleep with her.
So basically, we're screwed.
Sigh... and why does Biden keep smiling like a creep? IT'S NOT HELPING, JOE!
The gay marriage thing makes my blood boil. I'm tempted to write in for Dennis Kucinich at this point.
I think I'm gettin' sick. It's at times like this I wish I could drink. M. P
Linda Park likes to watch TV, read some books, follow the politicking and look at pictures of bunnies on the internet. You can email her here or follow on Twitter @mspark.